60/40

So, I’ve been re-assigned!

Just yesterday I was re-assigned to a new home-stay in Geneva with a retired Swiss lady. She has been very pleasant and hospitable, and we’ve had many interesting conversations. Sixty percent of the time, she is able to communicate very well in English. For the remainder she reverts to French, and I fall back on my 9 wasted years of French education, the one year of actually trying to learn, and one year of experience living in the historically separatist pseudo-Quebec city of Hull. I loved my time in Hull, and I am liking Geneva much better now that I can buy food at the supermarket, instead of eating peoples leftover fondue and half eaten baguettes while the servers have their backs turned. Actually, I’ve never done this as it would require purchasing at minimum a $10 soft drink. In short, it ain’t such a bad arrangement.

Anyways, the plan is to get me out of here by August 30. I would like to note that I will have spent 40% of my time in a hotel, and 60% in the homestay during my time in Geneva.

So now. Why am I talking about these numbers. Maybe it’s because I had a research training this morning, which has naturally led me back down the path of quantitative and statistical analysis. My math brain is on fire right now. Or, maybe it’s because I’m like Charlie Eppes from the tv series Numb3rs, and I love making spurious numerical connections in all aspects of life. But more likely, it’s because I will now be dedicating 40% of my work-time with the host organization in Egypt, and 60% of my time with a host organization in Madagascar where I will be stationed.

This arrangement obviously brings challenges, but I am definitely more excited than anything else. I’m extremely happy to be remaining on the African continent, and to continue learning about the various regional difference. I am happy to be working with a new organization that I know will have much to teach me. I am also extremely happy that I will still be contributing to the work of the host organization in Egypt, for which I owe much appreciation and gratitude. And I am extremely grateful to the larger network for all of their support over this uncertain period. It’s pretty amazing. And lastly, I want to thank God and my fans. Without you blah blah blah pandering blah blah blah.

ps- thrash http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ansqHRNJshE

Leave a comment